Thursday, 28 August 2014

The Things I'd Miss by Andrew Clover - Review by Kimmy

Hey all,

Did ya miss me?

I finally got my hectic schedule under control, so here is a review from a book I read back in July whilst on holidays:

The Things I'd Miss
by Andrew Clover

Published Date: 17th July 2014


**Disclaimer - I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review**


For fans of Maggie O'Farrell and Jojo Moyes. If you could go back and change anything in your past, what would it be? The new novel from the author of Learn Love in a Week

If you could change anything in your past, what would it be? 

If only things had been different, Lucy Potts, 43-year-old mother of two, would be married to Hugh Ashby - the man she loved and lost. Instead, she married his best friend, Simon.

And then a devastating car crash leaves her unconscious, and she finds herself revisiting the crucial moments in her past. But everything is slightly different. Suddenly, she is able to change all the things she's always wished she'd done differently.

But by concentrating on her past, she is forgetting about all the things she would miss in the present, and as she comes round, she makes a devastating discovery.


The lovely Philippa Cotton at Cornerstone, Random House UK sent me this book to read and review.  I had requested the book after reading the synopsis.  It just drew me in straight away.  We all think to ourselves now and again 'If only I could go back and change this or that!' so I couldn't turn down the opportunity to read and review of this book.

I started reading the book the day before we were to leave to go on holidays.  I didn't really get far into it, short lunch break and last minute packing granted me no more than 10 or so pages.  So I began to read it on our journey the next day.  I was instantly hooked.  I remember sitting in the front passenger seat of our jeep, tears streaming down my face and my husband saying "Maybe you should take a break from reading that book."  I took his advice.  But after a short while, I couldn't put it off any longer and had to read more and find out what was going to happen next.

I loved this book, a beautifully written story that proves to us that some things are just meant to be and if you spend too much time reflecting on what could have been, you are going to miss out on what is here now and right in front of you.

So go get this book, it will not leave you disappointed.  Oh and make sure you have your tissues at hand!

Congratulations to Andrew Clover, may you have many future successes!

Useful Links

Wednesday, 27 August 2014

Tuesday, 26 August 2014

26/08/2014 Teaser Tuesday #12

Welcome to this weeks Teaser Tuesday! 

Hey peeps :)

 Hope your having a nice day? Here's this week's Teaser Tuesday. I won this in a goodread's giveaway earlier this year and cannot wait to eventually get a chance to read it.

Here's how it works you randomly open your book/scroll to a page (ebook) and pick a line off the page to tease/tempt everyone else with. So i wonder if these random sentences are enough to tempt you into buying this book.

Eeny Meeny by M.J. Arlidge

First pick - Page 1 : Sam is asleep. I could kill him now. His face is turned from me - it wouldn't be hard.

Second pick - Page 118 : A sound from the hall. A terrible battering and screaming. Fists pounding, her mother wailing.

Third pick - Page 290 : She was dead. She must be dead. There wasn't enough oxygen in here for a fly to breath, let alone a human.

What are you currently reading? tease us back in the comments.
If you have a Teaser Tuesday post link below.

Monday, 25 August 2014

Rinny Reviews - The 100 Society by Carla Spradbery

Disclaimer : I was Provided a free ARC copy of this book from Netgalley in return for an honest review. Thanks to Hachette Children's Books and Netgalley

Amazon UK
Amazon US


I Know What You Did Last Summer meets Point Horror in this YA début.

Friendships unravel and lives are risked in this suspenseful début thriller where no one is above suspicion...

For sixth-form student Grace Becker, The 100 Society is more than just a game; it's an obsession. Having convinced her five friends at Clifton Academy to see it through to the end, Grace will stop at nothing to carry out the rules of the game: tagging 100 locations around the city. With each step closer to the 100-mark they get, the higher the stakes become. But when the group catches the attention of a menacing stalker - the Reaper - he seems intent on exposing their illegal game, tormenting Grace with anonymous threats and branding their dormitory doors with his ominous tag.

As the once tight-knit group slowly unravels, torn apart by doubt and the death of a student, they no longer know who to trust.

With time running out, Grace must unmask the Reaper before he destroys everything she cares about for ever...

Carla Spradbery's début novel The 100 Society and is expected to publish on the 4th of September 2014.


I have a confession to make before I start on my review. My usual way I find the next victim on my TBR follows a process 1) the cover or title draws me in 2) I read the blurb 3) I read reviews and perhaps a little about the author 4) I decide if it's something I want to read. So I didn't even get the Blurb finished before I decided to hit request on Netgalley. As soon as I finished reading the first sentence I Know What You Did Last Summer meets Point Horror in this YA début, I knew that I would have to read this book, despite being anxious about the then lack of positive reviews or reviews above 3 stars.

When I was younger every time I walked into the library (which was at least once a week) I rushed straight over to the point horror shelf. I devoured that section like it was a red velvet cupcake LOL. So I was excited to see that since after years they had seemingly vanished if this book would hold up to my precious memories. (If only I could get mini cupcake to read point horror I would have an excuse to read them all again) This book did not disappoint in that respect it was everything I would have/do expect from a point horror book.  

The author's writing may not be as elegant as some people like and there was minor flaws that you would expect from an arc. However this was not an issue for myself. Although the writing felt a little rough in patches and the characters were not as fleshed out and as relatable as I would normally like.  The plot was so unique and refreshing I found myself quickly lost and absorbed in the book. A real page turner I did not want to put it down. The plot was slow at first but soon gathered pace and was full of mystery, action, twists and turns. I soon got drawn into trying to guess who was the reaper and my first guess was right and went back to that person being my only suspect towards the end. I found myself chopping and changing. It was so fun I love books and films that make me do that. Even though my first and final guess before the reveal was correct I did not find that this meant that the book was predictable. I also think that the plot tied in well together and was a nice finished bundle without a nonsense ending. Although I do think that we should have had more of Grace's dad and brother, that is the only part that to me did not seem to have a definite ending.

I think that the book being set at a boarding school was perfect for the plot. The book is creepy and spooky and the setting I feel helped with making you feel like you had to look over your shoulder whilst reading. I have to say my two favourite characters were the janitor and the art teacher as side characters we knew less about them than the main six but they added so much in the scenes they were in for me even if it was at times just adding atmosphere. Some of my favourite scenes were because of them and the atmosphere or witty lines that came with them being in them.

 As I said above the characters were not as well fleshed out as I would like, this making them harder to relate to for me. I am still unsure on how I feel about Grace especially as the main character out of the main group. I did not dislike her or have a strong like for her. She was okay, I do feel she did not develop as much as she should have the situations she was in and the way she reacted at times did not feel real in a way. Although I guess when you factor in her age they might be more appropriate. As for the other main characters Trick, Pete, Ed, Cassie and Faith were much of the same all had their own backgrounds, personalities and mysteries. They too were a bit flat I wish we could have maybe had more background to them. Although the dialogue between them all was good and sometimes found myself laughing out loud. If i had to pick a favourite from the six of them it would be Trick he just seems more relatable. His actions and reactions more believable.

I have talked a great deal of negatives to do with the characterization in this book which I enjoyed so much and this will seem strange to some of you. The characterization being so marred in your eyes usually detracts from the story and your enjoyment from the book. However I think that if it had been better I do not think I would have enjoyed the book any more than I did not meaning the book was bad regardless. The lack of characterization is what drew me more into the book and plot and allowed me to guess to and fro without any real feelings making it more enjoyable for myself.

Overall I really did enjoy reading this book and I am shocked at how much I honestly did enjoy this book considering the things I did find that would normally make me have a hard time finishing never mind enjoying a book. It's been awhile since I found myself so spooked by a book. I am a sucker for a good who done it? Mystery. It was also a nostalgic read for me because of the point horror feel. I have recommended this to friends already not only for their tweens and teens but for themselves. I will also be purchasing a couple of copies nearer Christmas for gifts for some of the younger members of the family and friends. I hope this is the start to a return of good horror books for the younger generations and young at heart. If you are looking for a easy and quick read full of creepiness and mystery do consider this book.

I wish Carla much success on her début and in the future.


Author's Useful Links

Tuesday, 19 August 2014

19/08/2014 Teaser Tuesday #11 by Rinny

Welcome to this weeks Teaser Tuesday! 

Hey peeps :)

 Hope your having a nice day? This week's Teaser Tuesday is exciting for me. Only recently added to my TBR pile and recently snatched up from Amazon. I have always loved Super heroes, recently Kimmy and I started to play Marvel Heroes 2015 (which is free to play pc&mac). To say we are addicted would be putting it mildly LOL. So when i noticed this book not only with superheroes but zombies too, I knew i was going to have to get it right away. I cannot wait to read this book.

Here's how it works you randomly open your book/scroll to a page (ebook) and pick a line off the page to tease/tempt everyone else with. So i wonder if these random sentences are enough to tempt you into buying this book.

Ex-Heroes (Ex-Heroes #1) by Peter Clines


First pick - Page 5 : Of the twelve victims, seven took a few hours to die. One took a whole day.

Second pick - Page 30 : She brought her armored fist around like a wrecking ball and shattered their skulls

Third pick - Page 111 : I knew I had the physical prowess and skills to have a direct, positive effect on the city of Los Angeles. 

What are you currently reading? tease us back in the comments.
If you have a Teaser Tuesday post link below.

Monday, 18 August 2014

New Release by Charlie Daye

You might remember a couple of week's ago we did a spotlight/shoutout on author Charlie Daye. Well today she is releasing a new book the second in the Breeders series. I thought i would do a little blog post to show it some love and let you guys know about it.

Breeders 2 : The Rescue by Charlie Daye


Ten years ago, Tustin had a fling with a beautiful elemental witch named Tonya. What neither was expecting was the child that night would create. 
Bestowed very special gifts from both her mother’s and father's bloodlines, Ashley has just become the hottest commodity on the magical market. 
When her life is threatened, Tonya magically sends her to her father, who has no knowledge of her existence, with only the use of a memory as her guide. 
As the battle rages for Ashley's life, Tustin wages war against the coven of witches that have kidnapped Tonya. And with the help of Tonya's best friend Ava, they conceive a plan that's sure to be full proof except they weren't expecting for Ava to be taken. 
Bronx has been a Colony enforcer for as long as he can remember. His life was fine until Ava popped in claiming that they were destined soulmates. Bronx isn’t sure he wants anything to do with Ava and her soulmate claim on him but when the witches kidnap her, he jumps head first into a battle to bring her back into his arms. 
As the war between the two species climaxes, the ending is something neither side ever expected.

Author's Links

What books are you excited for their release this week? Let us know in the comments below. Have a great day :)