Friday, 31 January 2014

Feature & Follow #3


Gain new followers and make new friends with the Book Blogger Feature & Follow! If this is your first time here, welcome! You are about to make some new friends and gain new followers, but you have to know, the point of this hop is to follow other bloggers also. I follow you, you follow me.

The Feature & Follow is hosted by TWO hosts, Parajunkee of Parajunkee's View and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it'll allow us to show off more new blogs!

How does this work? Post your name here along with the link to your blog in the comments section.  Then you create a post on your own blog that links back to this post (easiest way is to just grab the code under the #FF picture and put it in your post) and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them "hi" in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you!

What sets this Hop apart from others, is the Feature. Each week Parajunkee & Alison Can Read will showcase a Featured Blogger, from all different genres and areas. Who is the Feature today? Find out by clicking their names. Just remember it is required, if you participate, to follow those they Feature and you must follow the hosts (Parajunkee & Alison Can Read) as a courtesy. How do you follow someone? Well, if you have a preference, state it in your #FF post.

We prefer to be followed on bloglovin'.  So click the following picture or the bloglovin' link in the top corner of the page.  Don't forget to stop by our other social media sites too!


Whilst your here, why don't you have a looksie at some of our recent posts.

Thanks for stopping by, don't forget to follow!

Follow on Bloglovin

Wednesday, 29 January 2014

Wordless Wednesday #1 by Rinny


Welcome to this week's Wordless Wednesday. A day where pictures speak for themselves!






Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

 Follow on Bloglovin 

Teaser Tuesday by Kimmy



Welcome to this weeks Teaser Tuesday 
by Kimmy.  

Lets hope these random sentences are enough to tempt you into buying this book!


Deeply Twisted





First pick - Page 20:

Their eyes held each other, and both women had a grimace on their face. I clasped hand in front of my mouth, and stared from my mother to grandmother. It wasn’t like Opoe to defy my mother in such a way, and I watched as the two women were locked in silent combat with each other.

Second pick - Page 100:

Damien’s eyes met hers, and for a brief second, Mandy felt as if the stranger read her thoughts.  “Let’s all just sit down,” she said with a panicked cheer in her voice, and led the group direction of dinner table. With strong hands, she pushed a reluctant Luke in front of her.

So, what are you currently reading?

Sunday, 26 January 2014

Gotta love me some zombies! by Kimmy

This past few weeks, I have felt like a kid in a candy shop, being surrounded by all these great books to read and review.  Especially when it comes to zombies.  Gotta love zombie books.

**Disclaimer - I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review**

Life After: The Arising by Bryan Way



Summary:

19-year-old film student Jeff Grey returns home from college for the weekend only to find himself confronted with something he'd only seen in movies and read about in books: Zombies. Despite lungs beset by asthma and a total lack of survival skills, his lifelong fantasy of living through an undead apocalypse helps him organize a small group of acquaintances, but with the town effectively quarantined and no help on the way, Jeff and the rest of the survivors will have to grow up fast if they want to see a life after the arising.

Review:

Zombie apocalypse books are nothing new, but when the story is told in the way this one is, it makes for an exciting read.  The details in the story have been well written, you find yourself there, seeing what the main character Jeff sees, hears and feels.  When we aren't immersed in the fight for survival during the zombie action scenes, were getting to know the characters and watch them develop.  Their basic everyday needs aren't forgotten and this adds to making the story even more realistic.

Whether your already a zombie fan or considering venturing into the world of zombie fiction, this is a great book.  I really look forward to reading the next instalment.

So what are you waiting for, go get this book now, links posted below.

Congratulations to Bryan Way, may you have many future successes!

Useful Links



Saturday, 25 January 2014

Feature & Follow #2


Gain new followers and make new friends with the Book Blogger Feature & Follow! If this is your first time here, welcome! You are about to make some new friends and gain new followers, but you have to know, the point of this hop is to follow other bloggers also. I follow you, you follow me.

The Feature & Follow is hosted by TWO hosts, Parajunkee of Parajunkee's View and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it'll allow us to show off more new blogs!

How does this work? Post your name here along with the link to your blog in the comments section.  Then you create a post on your own blog that links back to this post (easiest way is to just grab the code under the #FF picture and put it in your post) and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them "hi" in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you!

What sets this Hop apart from others, is the Feature. Each week Parajunkee & Alison Can Read will showcase a Featured Blogger, from all different genres and areas. Who is the Feature today? Find out by clicking their names. Just remember it is required, if you participate, to follow those they Feature and you must follow the hosts (Parajunkee & Alison Can Read) as a courtesy. How do you follow someone? Well, if you have a preference, state it in your #FF post.

We prefer to be followed on bloglovin'.  So click the following picture or the bloglovin' link in the top corner of the page.  Don't forget to stop by our other social media sites too!


Question of the Week:

What books are you looking forward to reading in 2014?

Oooooh there are so many books we are looking forward to reading.  You can see Rinny's 2014 anticipated list by clicking here.  As for myself, Kimmy, I'm looking forward to starting the Lunar Chronicles, Razorland Series, Slated Series and Uninvited.  I have so many other books I can't wait to get started, if you are interested in what these are, visit my Goodreads page.

So what books are you looking forward to in 2014?  Comment below!

Whilst your here, why don't you have a looksie at some of our recent reviews.

Thanks for stopping by, don't forget to follow!

Follow on Bloglovin

Thursday, 23 January 2014

2014 Reading Challenges


I know this is a really, really belated post. We talked about it awhile ago but we have only just got round to typing it up. I stumbled across challenge posts on Goodreads a few weeks ago and I thought oooh what a good idea. So I spoke to Kimmy and we've decided for the first time ever to do some reading challenges. You can keep track of the progress with our challenges by visiting the 2014 Challenges page or clicking the picture above.

What is your 2014 reading challenges?

Comment below! 


Follow on Bloglovin

Sunday, 19 January 2014

Feature & Follow #1


Gain new followers and make new friends with the Book Blogger Feature & Follow! If this is your first time here, welcome! You are about to make some new friends and gain new followers, but you have to know, the point of this hop is to follow other bloggers also. I follow you, you follow me.

The Feature & Follow is hosted by TWO hosts, Parajunkee of Parajunkee's View and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it'll allow us to show off more new blogs!

How does this work? Post your name here along with the link to your blog in the comments section.  Then you create a post on your own blog that links back to this post (easiest way is to just grab the code under the #FF picture and put it in your post) and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them "hi" in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you!

What sets this Hop apart from others, is the Feature. Each week Parajunkee & Alison Can Read will showcase a Featured Blogger, from all different genres and areas. Who is the Feature today? Find out by clicking their names. Just remember it is required, if you participate, to follow those they Feature and you must follow the hosts (Parajunkee & Alison Can Read) as a courtesy. How do you follow someone? Well, if you have a preference, state it in your #FF post.

We prefer to be followed on bloglovin'.  So click the following picture or the bloglovin' link in the top corner of the page.  Don't forget to stop by our other social media sites too!


Question of the Week:

Who is your blogger BFF? Tell us a little bit about him or her? If not tell us why you need or don’t need a blogger BFF.

Well, since this is a joint blog.  Our blogger BFF would be each other, yay lol.  Is that cheating!?!

Rinny and Kimmy.  We have been friends for a while, both have so much in common and decided to start up a joint blog together.  Lately we have been reviewing books separately, but we have a few joint reviews coming up, so keep your eyes peeled for those.  Whilst your here, why don't you have a looksie at some of our recent reviews.

Thanks for stopping by, don't forget to follow!

Rinny's 2014 Anticipated Book Releases

I have seen quite a few people making a list of their most anticipated 2014 releases, so I thought why not join in. I can not tell you how hard this list was to keep from spiralling out of control. So I have tried to keep it too fourteen you know 2014 lol. I won't go posting all the blurbs but will link the Goodreads pages (linked on pics). I will also include expected release date.

So let's get started :

1 - Soul Reflection by Lorraine Sears  expected 13.12.14.
I cannot wait this is the book I am most excited about. I read the first in the series a couple of weeks ago and posted  a review here on the blog. I cannot stop thinking of the first book, the characters and the possibilities.

 Authors Goodreads Page

2 -  The King (#12 in the black dagger brotherhood series) by J.R Ward. expected 1.4.14
I love this series and I know each book is a do not put down read for me.


 Goodreads Page

3 – Nil by Lynne Matson  expected 4.3.14
I first came across this book in a youtube booktube video. It sounds so intriguing and different to what I normally read. 

 Goodreads page

4 – Dissonance (Dissonance #1) by Erica O'Rourke expected 22.7.14
The cover for this looks so gorgeous and the blurb just spoke to me. I have previously wondered what it would  be like if there was alternate worlds formed from our choices. Should be a interesting read.

 Goodreads Page

5 – Free To Fall by Lauren Miller expected 13.5.14
I cannot wait to read this sounds so interesting and similar to a poem I wrote when I was in my teens. 

 Goodreads Page

6 – The Hunted One (end of days #1) by Meg Collett expected 17.1.14
Sounds interesting has a good intriguing cover, angels and a start of a new series all equals reasons that I have to read this book.

 Goodreads Page

7 – All That Glows by Ryan Graudin expected 11.2.2014
Gorgeous cover and sounds like a interesting book with fae.

 Goodreads Page

8 – The Legend Of Me by Rebekah. L .Purdy expected 2014
Love the cover, sounds interesting perhaps a little like the film The Village.

 Goodreads Page

9 – Forget Me by K.A.Harrington expected 14.8.14
Looks like an interesting read full of secrets and lies.

 Goodreads Page

10 – To All The Boys I Loved before by Jenny Han expected 22.4.14
Not my usual read but that’s one of my readaloutions for this year. Sounds interesting.

 Goodreads Page

11 – Hexed by Michelle Kays expected 10.06.14
Sounds interesting and another new author for my readaloution.

 Goodreads Page

12 – Dear Killer by Katherine Ewell expected 1.4.14
Sounds intriguing and I love books like this . Nothing like a good thriller.

 Goodreads Page

13 – Written In The Stars by Ali Harris expected 5.6.14
Not my usual read, sounds interesting and a nice summer read for me. Like the thought of seeing the two ways her life could pan out. Which will she choose?

 Goodreads Page

14 – The Skinwalker's Apprentice by Claribel Ortega  expected 24.2.14
Sounds like my kind of book. Cant wait to read.

 Goodreads Page


What books are you looking forward too? Comment below!

Wednesday, 15 January 2014

Mermaids & Serial Killers need I say more?

Hi everyone it's Rinny back with another review.

Siren's Secret By Debbie Herbert






Published : Nov 5th 2013 by Harlequin (first published Jan 1st 2013)
ISBN : 0373885822 (ISBN13:9780373885824)
Edition language : English
Series : Harlequin Nocturne #172

BLURB

In Debbie Herbert's d├ębut novel, there are two secrets, each one with a deadly consequence….

Shelly Connors's worlds—on land and in the sea—are turned upside down when an evening swim turns into a nightmare. On a sweltering night deep in the bayou, the mystical mermaid witnesses a horrifying act. With a monstrous killer now hot on her trail, her life and the lives of her kin are in jeopardy.

Terrified of becoming the next victim, Shelly has no choice but to turn to Sheriff Tillman Angier. Tillman has had his intense Gray eyes on the sultry honey-haired beauty for a while. The feelings are mutual …and impossible to ignore. But he's determined to solve the murders, and he knows Shelly's hiding something. Can she trust him with her deepest secret?

** Disclaimer – I was given a free copy of this book by the author in return for a honest review ** 

REVIEW

 Before I begin I have two confessions: #1 is that I gave up on Harlequin/Mills & Boon many many years ago in my late teens donating my collection to charity. #2 is I cannot resist Mermaids in any shape or form. Come on girl's we’ve all pretended/wished to be one at some point in our lives.

That being said as soon as I looked at Siren's Secret before putting myself forward to review. I took one look at the cover and knew I was doomed. I mean who can resist such a beautiful cover. The fact that their was a serial killer and mermaids in one book was the final push of the hook. So I gave in and decided to ignore the fact that it was a Harlequin published book.

At first I found it hard to get into the book. This was not due to a fault on the author's part but my health fighting my need for good old book sustenance. However I did find myself wanting to read on and on more and more as I got through the book. I love the fact that the love and budding relationship between Shelly and Tillman did not overshadow the serial killer story line through the book. The two ran through from start to finish seamlessly and you did not feel short handed on either. The characters were all written so well that you could not help but feel like part of them. They were well fleshed out, interesting, relatable and more importantly realistic. There was never any doubt from who’s point of view you were seeing from, which is a bonus as sometimes you cannot distinguish who’s who and can be left feeling confused and disappointed. I went through many emotions along with the characters and because of them. The “Boatman” and being inside his head still gives me chills. I even really liked the supporting characters and I am glad to hear that Jet and Lilly will get their own story especially Jet she's such a strong, determined, fierce and interesting character. Hopefully letting us learn more of the Mermaid kingdom and their ways. They’re is many mermaid books out there now but few come with detail and brought to life feeling that Debbie has achieved. I also have to say Eddie by far touched my heart more than anyone such a sweet, beautiful character and an honest portrayal of his battle and those around him with Autism. I hate putting spoilers in reviews  but I was so happy that it was Eddie that helped Tillman come to terms with Shelly's uniqueness and how he truly felt. Rebel should also get a mention trying not to spoil anything but I love this pooch and towards  the end I was near tears over him.

I also love the fact every chapter starts with a little verse setting the scene and hinting as to what is to come. I loved this I was like a kid in a sweet shop every time I knew I was going to be starting a new chapter. Just because I knew I would be getting a new little verse.

There is a few sexy scenes, some really stomach turning gross moments and some strong language and themes in the book (sexual abuse) in the book. There is also a lot of suspense,mystery,romance,secrets and even a twist or two.

Now comes the hard bit and I have spent many hours trying to think of a score out of five for this book. I have found it extremely hard to rate this book not because I  did not enjoy it. Simply because I didn’t love it as much as I wanted too or reserve higher stars for. It is a good book and definitely worth a read. I look forward to the next in the series but have to stay honest and however awkward it may be but I rate this book 3.9 stars out of 4. I don’t feel 3.5 would do it justice and I feel for me it's just that 0.1 off 4.

RATING :



AUTHOR'S USEFUL LINKS
Amazon UK!
(also available at other places see Goodreads)

Zombies are so last year! by Kimmy

I came across a post on a Facebook page, an author looking for a review on her latest book.  What attracted me to post immediately was the unusual use of a video attached to the post for a preview of the book rather than the normal synopsis, blurb or link to the book on Amazon etc.  Upon viewing the video (link posted below) my interests were further piqued and I approached the author.

**Disclaimer - I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review**

Dead Awakenings by Rebekah R. Ganiere



This book did not leave me disappointed.  From starting the first chapter I was instantly drawn into the world of the main character.  A character I am sure many females will be able to relate to.  Then the fun begins.  A strange new world, interesting characters, relationships and a storyline that progresses at the right pace.  

I love zombie movies and books etc.  But this is not your typical "Brains" zombie.  This is an exciting new genre of zombie.  To be honest zombies are so last year lol.  I still love zombies, but the point I am trying to make is, don't look at this book and think, ugh another zombie book.  Trust me, it isn't.

You will be immersed in the characters world, have your heartstrings tugged, be caught up in the struggle of dead versus the undead and be kept hanging on every word, you won't even notice turning the pages.

So what are you waiting for, go and get this book now, links posted below!

Congratulations to the Rebekah R. Ganiere, may you have many future successes!

Useful Links